My Attitude Depends On How You Treat Me…NOT!

This part of the phrase before the word “NOT” has been going around the internet for quite some time.

At first it sounds really tempting! Especially for the young ones among us, with adrenaline and angst running through the veins most of the time. Heck yeah!

If you are nice to me, I will be nice to you. If you are not, don’t expect me to treat you nice! That’s life! That’s fair!

But again, do we actually want that?

So if you treat me kind, I will treat you kind. If you are mean to me, I will be mean to you. If you swear at me, I will point middle finger at you. If you break my heart, I will break your neck.

WOAH WOAH WOAH, shall we try to just stop first, catch a breath, and look into this, a little differently?

In life, we will come across all sorts of people, inevitably. Some are genuinely nice and true people. Some are fake. Some are fickle. Some are just rude. Some are holy. Some are just having a bad day. But choosing who to meet among all of them is simply impossible.

So interacting with them will be part of your day, and are you going to make all of them define your day? Attitude brings actions, and actions brings reactions. Reactions bring outcomes and they make or break your day. If we are going to base our attitude on all of these people, we will suffer together with them. In turn, we will make everyone else suffer with us too.

Also, when we say My Attitude Depends On How You Treat Me, aren’t we simply letting others be in control of our inner self? Mirrors reflect whatever that is shown to them, but once hit, they shatter. Mountains stand tall, unaffected by insignificant forces, and they stay strong no matter what you do to them. They don’t break. You can only break yourself against them.

So we can choose,

An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind

OR

simply, just to turn the other cheek.

Surely, the second one sounds painful and rather loser-like, but hey, you don’t need to stoop as low as someone who has just offended you. Rise up from the situation. Don’t compromise your values, standards and goodhearted nature. Be magnanimous. If someone treats you bad, it’s their choice. Your attitude, independent and unwavering, is your own.

This does not call for blind niceness. Of course if you are dealing with a poisonous kind, you have to be careful. Stay away if necessary, but you can still be as nice.

If you are nice to me, I will be nice to you.

If you are mean to me… I will still be nice to you anyway. =)

Pi

27th January 2012

Image Source:http://www.polyvore.com/cgi/img-thing?.out=jpg&size=l&tid=20672267

7 thoughts on “My Attitude Depends On How You Treat Me…NOT!

    • Pi! says:

      Thank you very much Matt! ^^ Yeap, people would be much, much happier! =) I was about to ask you what’s your wordpress, and now I know! Yay! =D

  1. Nura says:

    Hi. Just came across your blog while searching on the subject matter. Very interesting and well-written. Makes me think deep.. 🙂

Please let me know of your thoughts! :)